

ODPP MEDIA UPDATE

DPP sanctions charges against corrections officers

The Director of Public Prosecutions, Mr Christopher Pryde, has sanctioned charges against 10 Corrections Officers in relation to the assault and death of Seremaia Naidole Momo, a serving prisoner in 2019.

The 10 officers are Isei Rakaso, Pita Raikoso, Josefa Boletakibureta, Waisea Sadranu, Josefa Satini, Lemeki Koroi, Joji Raqamate, Ledua Tikoigau, Nemani Vasuvulagi and Apisai Naqamu.

The charges consist of assault causing actual bodily harm, acts intended to cause grievous harm and complicity in the suicide of another. It is alleged that on 20 February 2019 at the Naboro Minimum Corrections Centre these officers assaulted the prisoner and procured his suicide.

The officers will be appearing in the Suva Magistrates' Court today.